EBT approved Easter Baskets?

I work in retail. I’m coming up on my third year anniversary at my lovely store next month. Just saying, if you have never worked retail, it should be a requirement of every American to do so for at least one month in their life.

Last week, while at work, I peeked into a box of upcoming signs to be put up for holidays. (Btw, want to burn out on holidays long before they arrive? Work retail.) I briefly saw out of the corner of my eye something I had to go back and pick up before I could believe what I was seeing.

EBT Approved Easter Baskets.

Now, for those of you who may not know, EBT stands for Electronic Benefit Transfer, or in plain English, foodstamps. Free food for those who cannot, or mostly will not, work. Paid for by yours truly and all other hard working, tax paying folk.

You can tell the difference between the ones who use EBT because they have to and the ones who are abusing the government tit. The abusers pile candy up on my counter and swipe that orange card. The ones who need it, they buy food.

For the past three years, me and my co-workers, we have watched the candy and chip buying people and we have been angry but silent.

But now our store is sending us signs to hang up, saying basically, “Yes, please, use our tax dollars to buy yourselves Easter candy. Please, eat more crap food, get fatter and lazier, and we’ll keep working so you don’t have to.”

Gotta say, don’t want to work for that company anymore. But it’s not like I can quit. In this county, I’m a bit too white to get that orange card.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to EBT approved Easter Baskets?

  1. Dannan says:

    So if someone budgets their food stamps (EBT) in order to make it so that their kids can have candy in their xmas stockings… or a little something at valentine’s day.. or heaven forbid a easter basket you are angry? I could see if they were selling the money on the ebt card in order to get drugs why you would be angry. Some people have no choice other than to be on food stamps (public assistance) otherwise their kids would starve. I personally would pick to have my children eat before I do. So if I have to sacrifice to make sure that they are able to get easter baskets or eat even if it happens to be my pride that I am sacrificing. You NEVER can assume you know the reason the person is on public assistance. As you arent in their shoes. You can only know what you do… what you can afford. Maybe their children should be the only ones who dont receive an easter basket from the easter bunny.. MAYBE you should explain that to their children… MOMMY & DADDY cant afford to get you a easter basket – AND I DONT APPROVE of them getting it on food stamps!

  2. Ash Shepherd says:

    wow, i mean to think some poor kid might get an easter basket, its apualing and unhuman, I know you werent being to down on this and approched it with a great attitude but if thats all you have to worry about when it comes to your tax dollars being wasted then dang dont worry. Its alot easier to pick on poor people than it is the rich and i think the poor get picked on enough as it is….EASTER BASKETS FOR EVERYONE!

Leave a Reply

